> Home
> Program
> Camera Ready
> Call for Papers
> Committees
> Important Dates
> Submissions
> Travel
> Supporters
> SIGCOMM 2007

item NSDR'07 Program

Monday, August 27th, 2007
09:00 - 09:15 Workshop Opening: Umar Saif
09:15 - 09:45
Keynote: Kevin Fall (Intel Research Berkeley)

"Reaching the Unreached: Bridging the Technical and Cultural Network Architecture Divide",

09:45 - 10:45 Session 1: Rural Connectivity (Chair: Joe Polastre)

"Simplifying Fault Diagnosis in Locally Managed Rural WiFi Networks",
Sonesh Surana, Rabin Patra, and Eric Brewer (UC Berkeley).

"Providing Voice Connectivity to Rural India using WiMAX: Issues and Solution",
Abhijit Lele (Motorola Reseach, India), Mayank Raj (IIIT Bangalore, India), and Debabrata Das (IIIT Bangalore, India).

10:45 - 11:00 Coffee Break
11:00 - 12:00 Session 2: Computing Platforms (Chair: Aaron Falk)

"TinyPC: Enabling Low-Cost Internet Access in Developing Regions",
Muneeb Ali and Koen Langendoen (TU Delft, Netherlands).

"Reliable data collection in highly disconnected environments using mobile phones",
Brian DeRenzi, Yaw Anokwa, Tapan Parikh, and Gaetano Borriello (Univ. of Washington, USA).

12:00 - 13:15 Lunch Break
13:15 - 14:15 Session 3: Delay Tolerant Networking (Chair: Muneeb Ali)

"DTLSR: Delay Tolerant Routing for Developing Regions",
Michael Demmer (UC Berkeley) and Kevin Fall (Intel Research).

"Scalable DTN Distribution over Uni-Directional Links",
Dirk Kutscher (Universit├Ąt Bremen, Germany), Janico Greifenberg (Dampsoft GmbH, Germany), and Kevin Loos (Universit├Ąt Bremen, Germany).

14:15 - 14:30 Coffee Break
14:30 - 15:30 Session 4: Network Architectures (Chair: Umar Saif)

"WWTW : The World Wide Telecom Web",
Arun Kumar, Nitendra Rajput, Dipanjan Chakraborty, Sheetal Agarwal, and Amit Nanavati (IBM Research, India).

"FRACTEL: A Fresh Perspective on (Rural) Mesh Networks",
Kameswari Chebrolu and Bhaskaran Raman (IIT Kanpur, India).

15:30 - 15:45 Coffee Break
15:45 - 16:45 Session 5: Applications (Chair: Keiko Okawa)

"A Public Transport System Based Sensor Network for Road Surface Condition Monitoring",
Chamath Keppitiyagama, Kasun De Zoysa, Gihan Seneviratne, and Weerathunga Shihan (Univ. of Colombo, Sri Lanka).

"An Overview of the AI3 Network: Design and Applications of Satellite Network",
Teruaki Yokoyama (Cyber Univ., Japan), Shoko Mikawa (Keio Univ., Japan), Kenjiro Cho (IIJ, Japan), Jun Takei (Intel, Japan), Suguru Yamaguchi (NAIST, Japan), and Jun Murai (KEIO Univ., Japan).

16:45 - 17:00 Workshop Closing: Umar Saif
17:00 - 19:00 SIGCOMM'07 Reception

footer footer

powered by